[DFO] Dungeon Fighter Online Closes On June 13

Nexon America has announced on April 2, 2013 that the North American service of Dungeon Fighter Online (DFO) will be closing on June 13, 2013. This announcement comes after many months of speculation in response to an abrupt stop in the deliverance of concrete content updates as well as a dwindling of the already relatively small player base. The publisher says that DFO had not “attracted enough player interest to properly service the game” and said that internally they “struggled deeply with the popularity of DFO in North America as the title is immensely popular overseas.” The game is indeed immensely popular oversees with over 300 million global players and a world record 3 million users concurrently playing the game globally in 2011.

The game’s cash shop will be closed on April 11 and Nexon has prepared a compensation package for players, as well as packages to encourage DFO players to transition onto one of Nexon America’s other games.

DFO Closing: A Message From Min Kim

DFO Closing FAQ

Compensation Package

A New Journey

Posted on April 2, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL

    http://maplestory.nexon.net/news/events/in-progress/00Fto

    I was wondering why they said that… As if all DFO players will suddenly start playing Maplestory….
    Sad day though…. I feel weird about this.. angry, sad but mostly dissapointed. No not dissapointed in Nexon (well maybe a little bit), more in all the people that never spend enough money on the game to make it profitable. Now I never get to play it 😥

    brb complaining in other accounts when I get back

  2. Tch. Inevitable. Always wanted to try Female Slayer. Noblesse FTW!

    Well, time to get a Korean Nexon account..oh wait that’s almost impossible. Bye bye DFO. It had a good run. :c (Fking Nexon..)

    • Can’t blame the publisher if the game struggles to stand on its feet.

      • Yeah but I really wanted to try out the Female Slayer, wanted it for so long 😦
        I know Nexon isn’t really to blame, but I am still mad. R.I.P my love DFO 😥

        • I know you can’t rly blame the publisher…but…

          Just look where it is in Korea.

          • The game went to E3 and PAX. Over its existence there were numerous events in attempts to get people to play it. Nexon tried to create the base. The game took off in Korea (and far more so China), but not so in America. That’s nobody’s fault.

            • -Shrugs- True.

              I would’ve risked it and pumped out season 3 doe. I wouldve came back for Dark Knight.

              • Heres the stange thing. Im not all that mad. Think about it as Dec 2012. Before everyone was crazy. But when the day was apprching, no one rly seemed to care. I feel like that with DFO. I knew it was going to end and it was dissapointing to see it go.

                Dispite your wishes, I’m going to pin the blame on Nexon for this one. Before, they advertised on perfect places. Crunchyroll was a good one. However, they stopped and the community that they brought in was going to die out at some point. They werent’ bringing in new players as fast as they shouldve. and yeah, PAX E3 BLAH but are ppl who go there rly into it for MMOs? No! Bring people in ads like from Nitrome (8 bit stuff) or again Chruchyroll. Maybe some TV commercials for petes sake!

                Nonetheless, I’m thinking of dropping out of Nexon for a little while. I might pop into Maple to say hi to my good friends in Windia but I’ll come back when Xenon comes out or when Bubble Fighter makes its way onto the Nexon gaming section.

                Nexon, this BF a hella big chance to reel in some customers. This is a game that casual fans and hardcore fans will like. (Shooter, but looks casual) Heck, I could even meet some former PopTag members again.

                I wish you good luck, Nexon. May the odds be ever in your favor….okay i honestly didnt like the hunger games so w/e…

                • There is so much wrong with your comment. SO MUCH. I’ll address them one by one (my opinions of course).

                  1. Despite*

                  2. Yes people go to PAX and E3 for MMOs. I wouldn’t say that the base of visitors who go to those expos for MMOs is any less than for console games. Bringing a game to E3 is EXCELLENT exposure, especially when it’s being brought there by a company as renowned as Nexon and alongside anticipation powerhouses like Vindictus and Dragon Nest.

                  3. The vast majority of television advertising initiatives by game publishers, big and small, have been failures. That includes the Nexon’s partnership with Viacom for the advertising of MapleStory, a partnership which as far as I can tell yielded poor results.

                  4. I disagree about the “hella big chance”. I can’t see Bubble Fighter finding too big of an audience in America. It’s possible that it will but I honestly can’t see it. It’s quite a big download, the gameplay is outdated, it’s not as hardcore as you seem to think. Not that it’s exactly casual, but it’s the most casual shooter I’ve ever seen. There is a chance that it can take off though. It’ll be interesting to see how the public responds to this unique third-person shooter.

                  5. YOU DIDN’T LIKE THE HUNGER GAMES? THIS IS A SERIOUS SITUATION. JUST DIE. DIE NOW. FIND A HOLE AND DIE IN IT. NOW.

                • 1. Grammah Nazi.

                  2. You sure E3 lead big results? I didnt look at E3 stuff for MMOs at ALL. o.o; though thats too much ov my singular opinion. Did it yeild results?

                  3. True…I just suggested some stuff.

                  4. I see it. Battle field heroes is the same thing but it was quite successful. And BF is just an upgraded version of it. so chika chika bang bang, brah. (wtf did i just say.. ugh.. to lazy to backspace…)

                  5. ****YOU DIDNT LIKE THE HUNGER GAMES? THIS IS A SERIOUS SITUATION BECAUSE I AGREE WITH YOU THAT THE HUNGER GAMES SHOULD DIE. LET IT JUST DIE NOW. FIND A HOLE, DIG TILL YOU FIND LAVA, AND THROW ALL THE BOOKS AND MOVIES OF THE HUNGER GAMES INTO IT. NOW.

                  Dair we go. all fixed. 😉

            • Why did you stop replying to me

              • There really wasn’t much to reply to. O_O. So… uhm…

                Hi Robbin!! 🙂 🙂

                • I mean ,why didn’t you reply to me..
                  I just owned you giving you 5 fixed reasons… I mean…. we really need to throw away the Hunger Games, let it burn then burry the parts in the ground, wait for it to decay, catch all the floating piece that want to go to heaven, put them in a blender, drink it… shit it out and then flush it down the toilet. I HATE THE HUNGER GAMES!

                • bury*

                  Well that was aggressive.

                  Well I think The Hunger Games is good. Therefore it’s good.

  1. Pingback: [DFO] Dungeon Fighter Online Is Closed | The msupdate Blog

Leave a Reply

