My MapleStory Episode 1: SCANIA! And Early Maple Life

I had been playing MapleStory very inactively since the game’s beta period through my brother’s account. It wasn’t until around this time in 2005 (Thanksgiving events were active) that my friend Jon had finally convinced me to make my own character and start my own adventures.

So there I was. Downloaded the game. Logged in. Selected Scania. Chose channel 5. Got walked through the original Maple Island by my friends over the phone. Arrived on Victoria Island. Traveled to Henesys. My friend Jon told me to join him at The Rain Forest East of Henesys (the map that we had pre-Big Bang with all the pigs). It took me ten minutes to find the map even while being guided over the phone and the fact that the map was only two maps to the East of Henesys -F3-.

Two weeks. TWO. FREAKING. WEEKS. That’s how long it took me to rise the eight levels needed to become a Magician on my first ever character. I only played on channel five. I had no idea what I was doing. I wasn’t one of those people who just start playing the game and become pro instantly. I became the pro I am today (if I don’t say so myself) by studying the game from the ground up over the period of years.

But the day finally came in December 2005 when I clicked on Mr. Grendel and made my advancement to Magehood. Ahh… I’ll never forget my old faithful skill build… MAX ENERGY BOLT IMMEDIATELY. And so I did. It was Magic Armor that took the sacrifice as at my level up to 30 I did not have enough skill points to max it due to my maxing of energy bolt.

It didn’t take me nearly as long to get to level 30. Still pretty slowly considering I was a college freshman at this time and wanted to make sure I settled in well. Not much free time to play any games because I’ve always been a person who maintains an active social life. My friend (the same one who convinced me to start playing officially) once again convinced me into doing something: going the way of the Holy element. Clerichood was here!!! It was around this time that I started joining guilds. I wasn’t in any one for too long and none were special. I had made many good friends, but I don’t remember any of them other than those I know in real life. These were good days. I had so much fun.

Msupdate Out! PEACE! (my new favorite clichรฉ)

Posted on November 19, 2011, in Msupdate. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I just figured out what the like button was for…. Your post has received it’s first like given by me, this makes it extra special ๐Ÿ™‚
    I really liked reading this… can’t you make them longer, or release more at a time ๐Ÿ™‚

    • There’s a like button?! I didn’t even notice. Was that there on the other theme? Anywho, yeah it was pretty short and I’ll try to make them longer in the future.

      • It’s above the comment. actualy I noticed it before in the other theme but I never bothered… some other random person liked it too (dsdavidds) .. I am the second one to like it :p
        It’s above the comments….. under the twitter-facebook-stumbleupon buttons

      • and before I forget, pelase make sure in a future thing, that you MUST make a thing like this about you experiences at Nexon and blizzard.. I really loved those pictures you gave me (wich I lost xDDDD) a year ago and all other stuff you tell me about you experience over there, so I am sure I will love what else you experience while being there…. Maybe some stuff your bro can tell :p

Leave a Reply

