Public Service Announcement

Past GMS-original content categorized as “awesome” or “terrible”.

Awesome

  • MASTERIA (New Leaf City, Haunted House, Crimsonwood Keep)
  • Crimsonwood Keep PQ
  • Amoria and the Amoria PQ
  • The Visitors Event
  • Guild BBS
  • Window Mode
  • PIN System
  • Episode 1
  • iTCG
  • Sweet Cake Hill

Terrible

  • Friend Finder
  • Capture the Flag battle mode

As always I remained optimistic about everything Nexon America does until I can experience and judge it for myself. I’m so disappointed and it joins the Friend Finder system as original content I describe as being “terrible”.

The August edition of This Month in Our Past is “a little” late this month, but is expected to be released before Friday. This Month in Our Past is an ongoing series of posts published once a month about the game updates from the past. It should be released either a few days before the start of the month or in the first few days of the month. But sometimes I get lazy and it’s posted over two weeks late (like this month).

Did anyone see the Dragon Nest trailer on X-Play earlier?If you didn’t, you’ll be able to see it on the G4 website soon. You’d think that they’d have more pure gameplay footage highlighting the game’s combat when marketing the game on its combat on one of the most watched gaming shows in the world. Too much cinematic rubbish, exaggerated camera angles and special effects that don’t appear in the game.

Speaking of which, the Dragon Nest SEA (Global) open beta begins tomorrow! Click here for more information.

Tonight is the finale of MTV’s Teen Wolf. Going to go watch that now :).

Posted on August 15, 2011, in Msupdate. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. The Visitors isn’t GMS exclusive.

    TMS had it first.

    • it is GMS exclusive, but TMS got it first.

      In maple “exclusive” has another meaning

    • No. It was developed for Global MapleStory by the Global MapleStory team. It’s just that both GMS and ThMS were scheduled to get it in the same month and ThMS’s patch was scheduled for before GMS’s. Therefore, The Visitors is GlobalMS “exclusive”.

  2. wait .. I hear / read somewhere, i think you said it zach, that all content gets made in Korea, no matter how exclusive, but that the devs of america or europe come up with the ideas, send it to korea for development an then implent it in their game …. then what’s the point of having GMS devs ?

    • I probably did say it. All content gets coded and implemented in Korea since that’s where the dev. teams are. There is a large MapleStory dev. team, split into smaller teams which work on the individual games. These dev. teams work closely together as one team to deliver content to all services of the game. So Nexon America designs the content in every way and the GMS dev. team in Korea makes it work.

  3. msupdate :
    I probably did say it. All content gets coded and implemented in Korea since that’s where the dev. teams are. There is a large MapleStory dev. team, split into smaller teams which work on the individual games. These dev. teams work closely together as one team to deliver content to all services of the game. So Nexon America designs the content in every way and the GMS dev. team in Korea makes it work.

    So the devs of GMS are in korea as well … So when you said that you spoke to a dev that said he was dissapointed, you spoke to someone in Korea ?
    So does that mean that at the Nexon America -Maplestory department, there are only GMS and other ppl, but NOT developers ?
    That must be one empty workplace aside from the GMs, your brother & co and the lunchlady

    • I didn’t say spoke to someone on the dev. team. I said I talked to someone on the MapleStory team who helped develop the original content. That person works at Nexon America here in LA.

      Oh trust me, it’s not an empty place at all. There are two very important teams that work on a game: the development team and the publishing team. The MapleStory publishing team works in Nexon America’s offices in LA. There are actually over 200 employees there doing lots of different jobs like monitoring the games, servers, handling customer service, managing game marketing and basically just handling the day-to-day operations of the games. After the initial development of a game, the game can probably survive without a development team but cannot survive without a publishing team. Publishers=important.

  4. msupdate :
    I didn’t say spoke to someone on the dev. team. I said I talked to someone on the MapleStory team who helped develop the original content. That person works at Nexon America here in LA.
    Oh trust me, it’s not an empty place at all. There are two very important teams that work on a game: the development team and the publishing team. The MapleStory publishing team works in Nexon America’s offices in LA. There are actually over 200 employees there doing lots of different jobs like monitoring the games, servers, handling customer service, managing game marketing and basically just handling the day-to-day operations of the games. After the initial development of a game, the game can probably survive without a development team but cannot survive without a publishing team. Publishers=important.

    Zach I know about the fact that there are plenty of other people 😉
    But what I mean is, there are no devs there that develop new content…
    I know about GMS, Forum people, Ticket persons, coders and what not, always looking for new things to fix. But the thing is, the only thing that could be done is fixing stuff. When there is nothing to fix – to monitor, there is nothing for them to do besides helping people. Because when there is nothing to fix, there are no hacks and no buggs. This will almost never happen but you know what I mean. Korea has some people working on new jobs, balance, towns, Quests, monsters. Hell, maybe as we speak they are tweaking Akyrum to make him less powerfull (I doubt that, I think they will go cygnus all over again on him).
    But you also said that Q1 2011 Nexon HQ moved to Japan. Why is that. Does that mean that all the development now gets done in Japan, by different people. Or did the people move.
    Hehe, impressed on howmuch I remember everything you said ? xD

    • You don’t know what you’re talking about (no offense. I’m serious. NO OFFENSE AT ALL.). I’m honestly being my lazy self right now so I can’t be bothered to list all of the work of a publisher but a publisher will never run out of work to do. Just look at all of the jobs Nexon America is currently recruiting for, and you’ll see. And remember, they already have over 200 workers.

      http://www.nexon.net/corporate/careers/open-positions/

      Yes, it’s like you copy and paste everything I say into your brain. But that’s good. I’m educating the not-knowledgeable-about-Nexon, one person at a time.

  5. msupdate :
    You don’t know what you’re talking about (no offense. I’m serious. NO OFFENSE AT ALL.). I’m honestly being my lazy self right now so I can’t be bothered to list all of the work of a publisher but a publisher will never run out of work to do. Just look at all of the jobs Nexon America is currently recruiting for, and you’ll see. And remember, they already have over 200 workers.
    http://www.nexon.net/corporate/careers/open-positions/
    Yes, it’s like you copy and paste everything I say into your brain. But that’s good. I’m educating the not-knowledgeable-about-Nexon, one person at a time.

    No offence taken man 🙂 But you did say that the nexon HQ moved from Korea to Japan right ?
    And to be honest, before I met your blog 1 year ago, I was like a Nexon-kinda-hater, like those people at Basil and the Nexon forums. I didn’t hate Nexon that much but I was more like, they just see me as a number and only care for my money. But after I read your blog and watched the Blabber boxes (wich I LOVE) I now love Nexon so much that when I finished my study, I want to work at Nexon America/Europe or Treyarch.
    Do they accept Interships.. or what ever it’s called, you know, that they let people walk around there to learn about their future job, because for my study I have to live in a different country for 6 month, and I plan on either looking at Treyarch or Nexon, if they have that option 🙂

Leave a Reply

