[MSEA] 40,000 Concurrent Users

AsiaSoft and Nexon have announced that MapleStory South-East Asia has reached 40,000 peak concurrent users and has surpassed 4,000,000 registered users in July 2011. This after the recently added Big Bang updates.

In comparison, Global MapleStory has 8,000,000 registered users (as of May 2011) and hit 136,000 concurrent users after Big Bang in December 2010. Korea MapleStory has over 12,000,000 registered users, including a Korean record 588,000 concurrent users. Though not quite up to the mark of GlobalMS or KoreaMS, MapleSEA’s achievement is still great, especially for a South-East Asian game.

GO MAPLESEA!

Posted on August 3, 2011, in International MapleStory, MapleStory South East Asia, Update and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 37 Comments.

  1. off topic, I ❤ Treyarch
    Rezurection !

  2. msupdate :
    As an employee of Activision Blizzard and a lover of CoD, I have to agree with you.

    What does being a Activision Blizzard employee have to do with loving Treyarch xD
    Wich one you prefer Zach, a CoD game made by Treyarch or I.W (what is left of it) with Sledgehammer ?
    I personaly would like to see a combination, Let I.W make the Multiplayer, let Treyarch make the Story + Zombies. That way they can implent some easter eggs in the campaign, like they did in BO… Still waiting for the Quarentine map wich is hinted all over Firing Range and campaign. Oooh well .. Can’t wait for the Moon map, I can finaly play the classic maps !
    Do you have a ps3 or Xbox, or do you play on PC….
    Please don’t tell me you are a PC elite, or a Xbox fanboy … please T_T

    • Well first of all, Activision publishes all CoD games and Activision is a subsidiary of Activision Blizzard. Secondly, Treyarch, Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer are all subsidiary development studios of Activision, which is a subsidiary of Activision Blizzard. So Treyarch, Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer are owned by Activision Blizzard.

      I love MW2 more than Black Ops so I say Infinity Ward is my preference but they’re both really great studios. I’m a PC guy. I have an XBox and my brother (who lives in the same house as me) has a PS3 so we play each others’ consoles.

  3. msupdate :
    Well first of all, Activision publishes all CoD games and Activision is a subsidiary of Activision Blizzard. Secondly, Treyarch, Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer are all subsidiary development studios of Activision, which is a subsidiary of Activision Blizzard. So Treyarch, Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer are owned by Activision Blizzard.
    I love MW2 more than Black Ops so I say Infinity Ward is my preference but they’re both really great studios. I’m a PC guy. I have an XBox and my brother (who lives in the same house as me) has a PS3 so we play each others’ consoles.

    LOL maybe because it’s late, but I completely forgot that activision publishes the CoD games xD

    May I have the honour to have your ps3 ID … maybe send it over the mail ?
    I will completely understand it if you don’t want to give it out to a stranger like me, so don’t hesitate on saying now 😉
    IF you are interested, my PSN ID … is my username Nightcodex 😉

  4. msupdate :
    I’m not sure if my bro will allow but I’ll ask .

    Just tell your bro I’m a nice person, and that I wished him luck with his exams 😉

  5. msupdate :
    Lol it’s not that bro. The one with the exams was actually my half brother.

    Soooo confusing ….
    So your real bro moved with you to the US as well ?
    DOes he happen to be working with you as well …
    NVM that’s none of my business

  6. msupdate :
    He actually moved the LA before I did. He works at Nexon.

    NO … WAY !!!! I’m sorry to say this, but your bro is more cooler than you are … pfff, working at Blizzard … activision … w/e…. NEXON MAN !
    What does your bro do , design like you do, or is he cleaning the toilets ;0
    Or …. is he a GM !!!! OR THE BOSS !?!?!?!?!?!?!
    What is the game he is working on ?
    I have a Question , is there any way I can work for like a gaming company. Not in the design point of view because I suck at that, but any other job. I’m about to study on Internation Communication and media. Much like journalism but in English. In the description of the study it said like becoming PR manager and stuff. I’m wondering what my options are in the gaming industry.

    • He makes the sandwiches. JK. He’s an artist. You’re right that you could definitely become a PR manager. I guess you could also become part of the editorial team. I’m no expert on the different jobs in the industry.

  7. msupdate :
    He makes the sandwiches. JK. He’s an artist. You’re right that you could definitely become a PR manager. I guess you could also become part of the editorial team. I’m no expert on the different jobs in the industry.

    Maybe because it’s late, but you just made me realise I could fufill my dream, working in the game industry 😉
    Can you please explain to me what a PR manager does. I think I read somewhere that he hosts press conferences and other stuff … And what is the editorial team, are those people that work with codings, cause right now I don’t know sh*t about it …. xD
    Going to bed now, cya in 9 hours I gues, 2 AM now, should really get some sleep, been up late these days with my dad gone, and my lil bro and me wanted to stay up late xD

    • Well PR stands for public relations. It’s basically how the company… relates… to the public. They are in charge of stuff like writing press releases and organizing press conferences to communicate information to the press and general public. They can also help write speeches that executives of the company are going to present to the public. They may also works on advertisements. PR managers also have an important job internally. They help spread information around a company and maintain a relationship between executives and common employees. Lots of stuff.

      The editorial team is basically in charge of some of the articles around the place and copy-editing various submissions.

  8. msupdate :
    Well PR stands for public relations. It’s basically how the company… relates… to the public. They are in charge of stuff like writing press releases and organizing press conferences to communicate information to the press and general public. They can also help write speeches that executives of the company are going to present to the public. They may also works on advertisements. PR managers also have an important job internally. They help spread information around a company and maintain a relationship between executives and common employees. Lots of stuff.
    The editorial team is basically in charge of some of the articles around the place and copy-editing various submissions.

    So a PR manager is someone like Josh Olin at Treyarch, or Robert Bowling at I.W ?
    And the editorial team is like someone that makes the Maple Times on the website ?
    I think PR manager fits for me =D

  9. msupdate :
    Yeah, something like that. PR managers could also write articles like Maple Times.

    OMG THIS IS AWSOME !!!
    What is the difference between a PR manager and a Community manager… please tell me they are the same … please 😉

    • They aren’t the same. But they’re close and in some companies they perform very similar duties. The community team deals mostly with the ‘company to userbase’ relationship while the PR team is ‘company to industry’ or ‘company to press’.

  10. msupdate :
    They aren’t the same. But they’re close and in some companies they perform very similar duties. The community team deals mostly with the ‘company to userbase’ relationship while the PR team is ‘company to industry’ or ‘company to press’.

    Thank you, think I’m going for Community Manager, I like to be hte “bridge” between a company and their customers. I already imagined if I like, worked for Treyarch, Nexon, or any other company that doesn’t have a good name with the players, I would like constandly be on the forums (even on my free time) talking some sense in those people 🙂
    Sorry for asking these questions, but can he like… also give advise to the boss, or the marketing team ?

  11. msupdate :
    Well any good company would also consider suggestions from community managers, but you’ll be at a disadvantage.

    okay thanks 🙂
    Any news on what caused the downtime ?

    • An unexpected power outage in the vicinity of Nexon’s office. You know like when your computer is on and suddenly loses power, you can lose data when running a couple programs and processes? Think about that for thousands of servers performing hundreds of tasks all at once. It’s not as simple as just restarting the servers. They have to perform maintenance to do stuff such as make sure no data was lost, if data was lost find out how much, replace the lost data with the data that was backed up, make sure no hardware was damaged and no software corrupted, etc. etc.

  12. msupdate :
    An unexpected power outage in the vicinity of Nexon’s office. You know like when your computer is on and suddenly loses power, you can lose data when running a couple programs and processes? Think about that for thousands of servers performing hundreds of tasks all at once. It’s not as simple as just restarting the servers. They have to perform maintenance to do stuff such as make sure no data was lost, if data was lost find out how much, replace the lost data with the data that was backed up, make sure no hardware was damaged and no software corrupted, etc. etc.

    I know why this happened. You told me your bro worked at Nexon.
    Then your bro realised you told me, so he tried to do his best so more people would notice him outside of the Nexon office and he would get recognition. So he went on a PC there, made alot of art, made the PC crash, the crash spread trough all other PC’s and all hell broke loose..

    On a serious note : Does you bro work for the Maplestory department… if so, what content did he design. Maybe CtF and you are defending him ? 😉

    • He works on the MS team but doesn’t design in-game content. He mostly works on some of those banners that you see around the website and certain other pics like at the top of event and update notices.

  13. msupdate :
    He works on the MS team but doesn’t design in-game content. He mostly works on some of those banners that you see around the website and certain other pics like at the top of event and update notices.

    Did he make anything on his own .. or everything he ever worked on he made with a team ?
    Could you please tell me what HE made, I would like to see it on the MS site.
    So what he mainly does is that make banners for the site… that’s it ?
    So he is like … out of work when the website doesn’t get updated that often ?
    Did he make the AGE OF TRIUMPH banner or the BIGGEST HOT TIME EVENT EVER banner ?

    • Well all the banners and stuff are more of a team effort than something that one person sits down and does by himself. But it’s not only the banners, he also works on the art in the background of the Nexon game websites and other artwork.

  14. msupdate :
    Well all the banners and stuff are more of a team effort than something that one person sits down and does by himself. But it’s not only the banners, he also works on the art in the background of the Nexon game websites and other artwork.

    can you give me an example on what he worked on?

  15. msupdate :
    He has helped design the GlobalMS English logos for updates such as the Age of Battle logo that can be seen in the background.

    So by logos .. do you mean the backgrounds.. like with the BB change… or do you mean like the banner we keep seeing in the middle of the website.. with BB it showed wild hunter and BaM i gues, and now we see Chaos, with dual blade, blacksmith and alchemist ?
    But wasn’t this one made by KMS, cause I can remember that I have seen something like that before ..
    And you say he helped design the background we see now.. but wasn’t that already made by KMS … because I have seen that background before.. Or did he just remake it

    • I’m actually talking about the actual logos, like ‘Age of Battle’ and ‘Age of Triumph’ that appear in graphics, but that’s just an example of some of the work he does. Orange used to work on maple calendars but they haven’t released any new calendars in a while. He’s also a concept artist for all of Nexon’s games.

  16. msupdate :
    I’m actually talking about the actual logos, like ‘Age of Battle’ and ‘Age of Triumph’ that appear in graphics, but that’s just an example of some of the work he does. Orange used to work on maple calendars but they haven’t released any new calendars in a while. He’s also a concept artist for all of Nexon’s games.

    What, max from Orangemushroom, works at Nexon as well ?!! Or is Max your brother ..
    So your brother made the logos for Age of battle, Age of Triumph .. but by logo, do you mean what we see in the top screen with all the ongoing event popping up, like… first you see age of triumph, then it switches to the gach sale.. then to Vega scrolls.. you know, that top thing above NEWS, UPDATES, DOWNLOADS

  17. msupdate :
    ROFL. No. Orange is just what we call my brother. His real name is Ricardo .

    Oooh lol xD
    So that calender with the ship and the balrog and all those mobs from a few years back, was made by him.. what else ? Can you give me some examples of what HE made, or worked on .. cause I want to see his work. Do you know what he is working on now, maybe the Jump patch banner ?
    BTW, any news on when jump is going to come ?
    I read all over basil (-,-) in december. I was more hoping in 2 months, because 2 months from now is 6 months after jump got released in KMS. Then in january we get legend.. also 6 months away

    • Well, this is an example of something he worked on: http://i970.photobucket.com/albums/ae189/msupdate/BlockParty/Background_BlockParty.png . So I got it early, even though I wasn’t supposed to.

      This new patch schedule makes it extremely hard to predict big updates. The problem is that if we only update once every three or so months, and KMS released Legend like RIGHT after Jump! finished, it won’t work out. Don’t listen to basil on Jump! coming in December, I say it won’t. We’ll probably get Jump! starting before December and ending in December and then Legend early next year. Or maybe Nexon America has some idea to merge the Jump! and Legend updates?

  18. msupdate :
    Well, this is an example of something he worked on: http://i970.photobucket.com/albums/ae189/msupdate/BlockParty/Background_BlockParty.png . So I got it early, even though I wasn’t supposed to.
    This new patch schedule makes it extremely hard to predict big updates. The problem is that if we only update once every three or so months, and KMS released Legend like RIGHT after Jump! finished, it won’t work out. Don’t listen to basil on Jump! coming in December, I say it won’t. We’ll probably get Jump! starting before December and ending in December and then Legend early next year. Or maybe Nexon America has some idea to merge the Jump! and Legend updates?

    remember they can always implent sometinhg like a new job, and activate it later, like they do with event

    • Yes, but that usually doesn’t happen between major patches (Chaos, Jump!, Legend). As in they won’t patch in Legend content in a Jump! update and implement it after. What I was thinking would be best to do is just merge the Jump! and Legend updates since Jump! is so small and just patch them in at the same time this December/January.

  19. msupdate :
    Yes, but that usually doesn’t happen between major patches (Chaos, Jump!, Legend). As in they won’t patch in Legend content in a Jump! update and implement it after. What I was thinking would be best to do is just merge the Jump! and Legend updates since Jump! is so small and just patch them in at the same time this December/January.

    What would be really cool, is if GMS changed JUMP !, just like JMS or CMS changed the order of CHaos… 1st jump would be the pirate jump (kms postponed it, but they might have it ready already and GMS might have already translated it) and with that comes cannon shooter. 2nd JUmp is Archer jump, wich will bring Mercedes. The 3rd one will be the Warrior jump, wich will bring Demon Slayer. Last but not least the 4th jump will consist of both the thief AND mage jump patch since there aren’t any new jobs for them now..

Leave a Reply

