[DN] Dragon Nest SEA Closed Beta is Open! + DN America Dev. Blog

The Dragon Nest SEA closed beta has ended. Open beta is coming soon!

Join the discussion.

DRAGON NEST SEA WILL BE AVAILABLE FOR PLAYING FOR ANYONE OUTSIDE OF A REGION WITH A LOCALIZED SERVICE. THEREFORE, ANYONE OUTSIDE OF KOREA, JAPAN, CHINA, TAIWAN, HONG KONG, THAILAND, THE UNITED STATES, CANADA AND AUSTRALIA WILL BE ABLE TO PLAY IT, INCLUDING NEW ZEALAND.

The Dragon Nest SEA closed beta, published by Shanda Games, has entered its closed beta phase on Wednesday, July 13, 2011 at 6:00AM GMT. It will run until Tuesday, July 19.

The game client is now available for beta testers at the official website which can be viewed at http://dn.cherrycredits.com/.

DN Point Giveaway

Dragon Nest SEA closed beta testers will receive 1,000 DN Points for every day that they log into the closed beta. These DN Points can be used in the game’s cash shop when it opens in open beta.

Heroes of Beta Title

The Heroes of Beta title is a title that will be rewarded to closed beta testers when open beta launches if we meet some requirements. This title adds 2 to each stat and is permanent.

Requirements:

1. Log in everyday from July 13 to July 19.
2. Achieve level 24 in the game. It’s harder than it sounds if you’re comparing it to MapleStory or some other games.

Beta Pledge

Stand tall and proud CBT players, and take the Dragon Nest SEA Closed Beta Pledge, for your job is crucial and goes a long way to ensure utmost fun to millions of players around the world.

The Closed Beta phase of any game serves to improve and trouble-shoot any existing bugs and/or technical problems in the game or service. As a Dragon Nest SEA Closed Beta player, you pledge to:

  • Embrace the objective of seeking out bugs, provide feedback and to stress-test the limitation of the game service during the CBT period.
  • Be patient with bugs, technical problems and roll-backs during the CBT period.
  • Be understanding when your account is wiped after CBT.
  • Be proud of being the pioneer batch of players to experience the game before anyone else.
  • Provide feedback and report bugs in our forum.
  • Refrain from flaunting your CBT rewards too much in OBT. (It’s not nice to get people too jealous.)

Now, let’s give it your best for Lagendia!

This week: Job Advancement

Lucius: Welcome back, Dragon Nest Fans! This week I wanted to talk to you a bit about job advancement.
 

Princess K: That’s great! Where are you going? When do you leave? Are you moving to another game team or did you get a job at another company? We’ll have to throw you a going away party!

Lucius: Not that kind of job advancement glitter-for-brains. I’m talking about job advancement in Dragon Nest.

Princess K: Oh, right. I knew it was too good to be true. I was wondering how you got the MapleStory team to lift that restraining order against you.

Lucius: Hey, nothing was ever proven! .

Princess K.:Anyway… Now that I know what you mean by job advancement, I can see why you’d want to talk with the fans about it. While the Closed Beta was a success on a lot of levels, I was frustrated by some of our limitations. Due to the level cap and the fact that we had to block some of the content and systems, players couldn’t experience a lot of what the makes the game so great. Now the Open Beta is a whole different story. Players will be able to experience much more, including the ability to advance in their class and specialize in their subclass.

Lucius: That’s actually one of the big parameters we’ll be watching during the Open Beta. Which subclass are most people choosing to specialize in? What kind of feedback are we getting? The ability to specialize your character for the kind of game you want to play is a pretty big deal in Dragon Nest and we want to make sure we get it right. 

Princess K.: In our internal testing, I’ve really been enjoying the opportunity to specialize in both PvE and PvP. I love the Archer, but once I got the chance to become an Acrobat, I never looked back. The Acrobat loses some ranged power for a more close-up combat style that relies on kicks, punches, knocking enemies into the air and dodging out of the way. She’s kind of like a ballerina except that when she dances, the audience ends up dead


Lucius: I thought that happened at real ballets also. 

Princess K.: See? This is why we never take you on any team outings.

Lucius: Me, I love the Swordsman. I’ve always been drawn to damage dealers like the Warrior, but when it came down to a choice between the Mercenary, who does lots of damage but also throws out team buffs, and the Swordsman, who is built for nothing but doing physical and magical damage, there really wasn’t a choice for me. I like to destroy stuff.

Princess K: And again we go back to the restraining order.

Lucis: This from a woman who picked her subclass because “she had cute shoes.”

Princess K: Well, she did! Anyway, I thought the fans might like a brief description of the subclasses available in the game, so I pulled these off an internal document:

• Warrior
o Swordsman: Melee DPS – uses huge swords to throw out devastating physical and magical attacks.
o Mercenary: Buffer/Melee DPS – Uses slower attacks that do big damage and has a selection of buffs that can support the party.

• Archer
o Sharp Shooter: Ranged DPS – The ultimate long-range damage dealer uses incredible single target and area-of-effect skills to destroy foes.
o Acrobat: Melee Crowd Control – The Acrobat uses her skills to kick foes into the air, stun them, grab them, and pummel them down with non-stop attacks.

• Cleric
o Paladin: Tank – Uses a shield to get in close, block enemy attacks and pound them into the ground.
o Priest: Healer – Classic healing type who supports others with spells that repair damage and buff their abilities. Can also use holy spells to attack foes.

• Sorceress
o  Elementalist: Debuffer – The Elementalist uses fire and ice based spells that either inflict substantial damage-over-time or work to hinder an enemy’s movement or otherwise interfere with their ability to do damage.
o Mystic: Ranged Crowd Control – Can manipulate gravity and time to slow enemies down and otherwise stop them from being a threat long enough to destroy them.

Lucius: Wow, that was pretty smart of you. Now players can decide what they want to be before the Open Beta starts!

Princess K.: Exactly. There’s a lot of depth in Dragon Nest and we really want players to start exploring it.

Lucius: That, and it beats choosing a subclass based on foot apparel.

Posted on July 12, 2011, in Dragon Nest, Dragon Nest America, Dragon Nest SEA. Bookmark the permalink. 37 Comments.

  1. AND I’M invited !!!!!! Sadly I have mixed feelings about this … cause I want to play DN, but I also want to lvl up the proffesions of my 3 main chars in bera, get my lv 30 aran in Chaos a proffesion to lvl 3 before the 19th of july AND lvl up my db and Evan both 30 times before august 14 …. arg !!!! Can’t decide

  2. I’m a CBT player, but I don’t know if I will play it…
    I still update the Korean version but I don’t really play it. I guess I am waiting for the new class to come out.

    However, if there is one beta that I am very excited about, it is Rusty Hearts.
    I’ve played the Korean version but the publisher tightened the IP block restriction.
    I hope Perfect World is a wise company, if they don’t allow European players to access the beta then I am a very sad man.

    • The new class for DN looks really cool. I don’t remember what it’s called but it’s not like a class that you see in many other games which is good. Rusty Hearts really looks amazing to me too but I’m pretty sure Perfect World received the rights to publish in both America and Europe so you don’t have to worry :).

      I just noticed packed my July is. DN SEA closed beta starting tomorrow, DN America starting on the 26th, Rusty Hearts on the 27th, leveling my professions, getting my Karok from Vindictus to at least level 40… my schedule needs a little reorganization.

  3. Spadow :
    I’m a CBT player, but I don’t know if I will play it…
    I still update the Korean version but I don’t really play it. I guess I am waiting for the new class to come out.
    However, if there is one beta that I am very excited about, it is Rusty Hearts.
    I’ve played the Korean version but the publisher tightened the IP block restriction.
    I hope Perfect World is a wise company, if they don’t allow European players to access the beta then I am a very sad man.

    Spadow, are you from europe … o_0 ! cool 😉

    Oooh and Zach, what is the new DN nest job, can’t seem to find it on youtube

  4. o-o i am soo confused,one why is spadow here,2 what new class,Lol at what her did to maplestory,hes proboaly the one who messed up the game so badly that there are so many server checks and glitches.

    • 1. Spadow is here because his mother gave birth to him.
      2. A new class is coming to Dragon Nest soon. It’s not out even in Korea yet. It was announced all the way back in March.
      3. You do know that the whole thing with the restraining order and stuff if just a joke, right?

  5. I posted the same coment 3 times to reply to your 3 statments..i dont feel like writing it again,maybe tommarow.

  6. Btw anyone here play pokemon white,i need some help on catching legendaries.

  7. msupdate :
    It’s not out even in Korea yet. It’s called the Academic or something like that.

    zach, what is your char name, mine is Nightcodex .. buddy me 😉

  8. The new class is a dragon nest cannon shooter 😮

  9. msupdate :
    Okay I will when I get on.

    whats your IGN .. i chatted PALADIN, who replied with, I’m not zach -,-

  10. I forgot all about DNSea :O

    -pouts because I didn’t enter-

    Well, theres about 1 week and 6 days left until DN America 😀

  11. zach which version should I play?
    NA version or SEA version?

    I live in Peru ( South America ) but I can use AOL to play some USA games…

    I wonder which version should i play that is not too laggy 😦

    • It’s up to you. Nexon usually blocks even AOL connections, but if it works for you then okay. You’ll lag less on the North American server but I’m not going to tell you to play it. As I’ve said many times before it is my belief that if you have a service of a game for your region (in this case the Global service), you should play that service and no other service. So I say Global.

  12. msupdate :
    It’s up to you. Nexon usually blocks even AOL connections, but if it works for you then okay. You’ll lag less on the North American server but I’m not going to tell you to play it. As I’ve said many times before it is my belief that if you have a service of a game for your region (in this case the Global service), you should play that service and no other service. So I say Global.

    so zach, I have been thinking. THey say : so thats why you weren’t accepted in the Maplestory team ( or something like that). But this is what I don’t understand. DNsea, who’s the publisher of that game, it isn’t NExon. And are those the same publishers that publish MSEA ? AND …. why would Nexon, let another company publish the game they ALMOST always run in other countrys, why not make a NEXON HQ over there and start publishing, or is Cherry (or who ever is publishing it) like a sister company ?
    Please answer all my questions, I don’t care if it’s a wall of text

    • That last part with the MapleStory team thing is the DN America dev. blog so it has nothing to do with DN SEA. Dragon Nest isn’t Nexon’s game, It’s Eyedentity Games’/Shanda Games’ game and Nexon has just signed an agreement with them to publish the game in Korea and North America. It’s not like MapleStory which is a Nexon game.

  13. msupdate :
    That last part with the MapleStory team thing is the DN America dev. blog so it has nothing to do with DN SEA. Dragon Nest isn’t Nexon’s game, It’s Eyedentity Games’/Shanda Games’ game and Nexon has just signed an agreement with them to publish the game in Korea and North America. It’s not like MapleStory which is a Nexon game.

    I know, but why would the next america team talk about DNSEA beta … o_0

  14. msupdate :
    Edit: What maplefreak26 said.
    They didn’t. The DN America dev. blog is talking about DN America.

    thanks, the both of you

  15. what if i reached level24 but i started playing june 15?

  16. Hey zach could you check out my newest post about masteria content on my blog,because i worked realy hard on it and i would like your opinion

  17. David Torres Matola :
    what if i reached level24 but i started playing june 15?

    TO zach. ofcourse he would get the medal, as long as he did it in beta right ?
    ZOMG LV 24 ALREADY ?!?!?!?!?!?!?
    You are either a troll or addicted ;p

  18. msupdate :
    No. You have to get to level 24 and play every day of closed beta.

    i tought play every day was just for the cash shop thing …. anywayz .. my lil bro joined the “dance party”. My lil bro was angry. He said : Those GMs don’t know how to shut down a Closed Beta”. The party sucked, and there were ALOT of stupid people asking for money and buying and selling stuff… Stupid because their chars will get wiped, hopefully else they will have ALOT of money after the release xD

  19. can i play it anywhere in the world??? like in oceania regions like guam, palau. etc. because nexon DN lags like hell… T.T

    • I’m not sure. I think Oceania was completely IP blocked by DNSEA. I’m not 100% sure though. You should try. But Nexon is working on the latency in the game and may even open up an Australian server eventually.

Leave a Reply

